About Us

The Student Optics Chapter at the University of Arizona, or SOCk, is an educational, professional and social outlet for undergraduate and graduate students affiliated with the Optical Society (OSA) and SPIE. Among their many activities are the biweekly Community Speakers lecture series, fun social events, and the annual Laser Fun Day outreach event. The mission of SOCk is to support students of optics by providing valuable academic resources, facilitating social networking, and representing the study of light to the public.

2020-2021 Officers

Cedar Andre

President

MS

Jaren Ashcraft

V. President

PhD

Gregory Nero

Treasurer

PhD

Kira Purvin

Secretary

MS

Madeline Bergay

Academic Chair

BS

Sebastian Valencia

Academic Chair

BS

Jacob Barker

Social Chair

PhD

Noa Nishizawa

Social Chair

BS

Avalon McLeod

Outreach Chair

BS

Dani Trontz

Outreach Chair

BS

Feel free to contact us with any questions!

Cedar (President): cedarandre@email.arizona.edu

Jaren (Vice President): jashcraft@email.arizona.edu

Greg (Treasurer): gnero@email.arizona.edu

Kira (Secretary): kirap@email.arizona.edu

Madeline (Academic): mbergay@email.arizona.edu

Sebastian (Academic): sebastianv@email.arizona.edu

Jacob (Social): jbark95@email.arizona.edu

Noa (Social): nnishizawa@email.arizona.edu

Avalon (Outreach): AvalonMcLeod@email.arizona.edu

Dani (Outreach): dtrontz@email.arizona.edu